OpenAI is rolling out a way for users to lock their chats with ChatGPT, to help maintain their privacy on shared screens or devices that others also use.
The new ‘Locked chats’ feature lets users keep selected conversations in their account, but out of their regular history, pinned chats, and standard conversation searches. Resetting the account PIN permanently deletes all locked chats and the content associated with the older PIN. However, some conversation types might not be eligible for the locked chats feature.
Because the app hides protected content, the company also noted that on Android, locked chat screenshots might appear blank or black.
However, locked chats may also feature ads if this was previously available for the user’s account.
The rollout was ongoing, per the company.
OpenAI said that locked chats were available on the ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu offerings.
Supported mobile devices also offer Face ID, Touch ID, and other device unlocking methods. Users are able to lock existing conversations. Users can locate their locked chats under a dedicated section of the ‘Projects’ menu, and they will need a 4-digit account PIN to open them.

